Stop Smoking Journal: Day 14

Stop Smoking Journal: Day 14

What did you notice lately?

You may have noticed that I did not keep posting a daily entry in my journal lately. That's right; I missed three days (Day 11, Day 12, Day 13) of journaling my giving up the cigarettes. Why did I skip some days? A few things;

  • I got busy
  • I got sick
  • I got tired

So today on Day 14 I will recap the other days. I know that this is a journal and as such it is not necessary to make a record every day. Nevertheless I will recap the previous days in this post. It serves me as well as you to do so.

Day 11

Extra time with Liam

Day 11 was Sunday. Liam stayed over an extra night on Saturday night and we had fun and games till very late. When it was time for (Liam's) bed, I was tired myself and chose to sleep instead of getting on the computer at 10:30pm. Good move on my behalf. I had such a great nights sleep.

Sunday morning we both got up and had breakfast. Played some more games together and then we got dressed proper to go to Liam's mum's home. But she wasn't there when we arrived. No matter! We drove down to the local bakery and I bought some treats for Liam and me. We enjoyed a donut and apricot Danish out in front of the bakery on some nice chairs and table.

By the time we finished, cleaned up and driven back mum was home. Some big huggles (hugs + cuddles) and some big kisses were in order as we said our "goodbyes" and "see you soon"s.

Off to get new frames and lenses

I then drove to Knox Shopping Centre OPSM to get my eyes tested as well as pick out a new pair of frames. The appointment was late but I didn't mind as it was peaceful. Eventually Jackie the optometrist saw me in and performed my eye test (my left eye is still hopeless and my right eye got an adjustment). There was a test I never experienced before. It was a check for eyeball pressure (still sounds weird saying it). It required two drops of liquid in each eye and a handheld device that (as a recipient) looks like a blue-ringed alien ship landing right on your eyes iris. I've been watching "Terminator: The Sarah Conner Chronicles" lately and the similarity was remarkable…

I was asked after the examination to go out into the showroom floor and select some frames. I couldn't do it straight away as I really needed a rest from those eye drops. My eyes got very weak and tired from that examination. So I walked around the shopping centre and eventually went outside and lit a cigarette…

Hang on a minute!

Hang on a minute! I went outside and lit a cigarette. What time was it… 12:20pm! Yayness! My first cigarette for the day! Can't tell you how stoked (and surprised) I was to realize that I survived the morning and some afternoon with no smoking. I'm still feeling proud as I write this. Mind you the rest of the day was not smoke free but still I am pleased with how the day went.

Back to OPSM

Anyway after the cigarette I went back in and spent something like two hours choosing a frame for myself. Eventually with the panel of experts (staff members, 2 female and 1 male) the choice was narrowed to one pair. They are now ordered and will be ready in just over a week.

Daily Routine (Day 11)

  • Have you taken you CHAMPIX today? Yes (day and night)
  • Are you smoke free today? No.
  • How are you feeling today (1 angry <-> 4 happy)? 3 (I am pretty proud of my smokeless morning achievement today)

Day 12

I got sick

Went to work after breakfast in the morning and noticed that my breakfast didn't feel great in my tummy. Two hours into my work day and I'm feeling not the best. Left work for the doctors who poked and prodded me to gauge and assess my situation. Ouches, lots! Stomach is cramping as well as some other things going on that I will keep private to myself.

I went off to the pharmacy to collect medications and other things. Got home and started on a new program to treat myself. Pretty much had to stay home for this day and the next. I was going through a lot of pain and was wondering if the CHAMPIX were the cause of this. Hindsight tells me no, it was not CHAMPIX, if anything it was my body reacting to changing variables.

There was not much more for my day apart from telling you that it is really, really hard to resist the urge to smoke when you have nothing on your plate… Keeping busy helps me stop smoking.

Daily Routine (Day 12)

  • Have you taken you CHAMPIX today? Yes (day and night)
  • Are you smoke free today? No.
  • How are you feeling today (1 angry <-> 4 happy)? 1 (but not angry, just very low and sorry for myself)

Day 13

Pretty much like Day 12

There was not much to do in Day 12. I was still at home recovering from my medical situation. I got up late, had breakfast, got worried about smoking more because of doing nothing.

Read a book or two

I decided to read books. Yeah… me reading books. Here's a person whose reading is done on the Internet, the latest and greatest (and sometimes messiest) storage of information available. I look back at our Encyclopaedia books on our shelf and think, 'What a waste of paper and money'! Who knew that the Internet would replace Encyclopaedias from how many years ago? When's the last time you looked and read from an Encyclopaedia?

Anyway, I also had to lie down as sitting was not good for me. I got to read one book and I'm happy I did that. I also kept my drink bottle nearby and snacked on some fruit. Smoking was reduced and that as much better than the day before.

The book I was reading? Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill…

Daily Routine (Day 13)

  • Have you taken you CHAMPIX today? Yes (day and night)
  • Are you smoke free today? No.
  • How are you feeling today (1 angry <-> 4 happy)? 2

Day 14

Today is my quit date

Today is the 13th September 2009. It is my quit smoking date. It has been two weeks since I started the CHAMPIX program.

I'm glad to say that today I finished my last cigarette. I was wondering how to end and decided to just finish my current pack of cigarettes. I know I am not worried that I did smoke on my quit date. I know that I am happy that I quit on my quit date.

From now on there is no more smoking from me. Dad is going to be a whole better person Liam, if you haven't started noticing already…

Where are my new habits?

Now is the time to review my new habits with you. They are not solidified but are firming up daily. Sometimes I just plain forget to breathe!

  1. Identify my triggers: Find out what triggers me and note them. Catch myself responding to the triggers and force changes that stop me from smoking.
  2. Stop stressing: Don't buy another's emergency as my own. Everyone experiences an emergency, stop making it a habit to make it my emergency as well (and stop proceeding to fix the problem all the time). Instead be of assistance and help them help themselves. That includes helping myself help myself.
  3. Water is my friend: Drink lots more water during the day. I have a water bottle always at close proximity and continually sip through the day and evening.
  4. Have thinking time without smoking: Spend time at the break out room to solve a problem. If I need to think through a problem to its resolution, don't do it with a smoke in hand.
  5. Watch what I eat: I've noticed the want to eat more. Either the hand-to-mouth action or filling my stomach is substituting the smoking. Cut that out!
  6. Exercise: Step up the exercise and start working my system into a regular pattern of healthy activities.
  7. Breathe: Practice breathing deep ad exhaling slowly. Trust me, even as I do it now it is putting me into a peaceful state.

Daily Routine (Day 14)

  • Have you taken you CHAMPIX today? Yes (day and night)
  • Are you smoke free today? No (better planning would’ve made it a yes)
  • How are you feeling today (1 angry <-> 4 happy)? 4 (happy for a new beginning)

A big thank you to… You!

I want you to know how impacted I’ve been by your support for me. You are one of many who have conspired for my success. It is truly amazing.

You have provided

  • support,
  • encouragement,
  • your stories of giving up smoking,
  • anecdotes,
  • suggestions,
  • pats on the back,
  • and hugs

I cannot thank you enough for your contribution. It’s truly remarkable and well noted.

It’s not the end.

I know that this is just the start of a long life change. It might be the end of this journal (might!) but certainly not the end of a journey of being smoke free. I will keep practicing my newer habits and maybe even uncover more that will make being smoke free even more pain free. What a blessing that will be.

Leave a Reply

